MdaG's Roguelike

• Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

Poll: Which setting for a new roguelike game?

Which setting for a new roguelike game?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 MdaG

MdaG

AR-coholic

• Validating
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 932 posts

Posted 24 January 2006 - 07:14 PM

Project site (remember to reload website if it's still cached in the browser. Otherwise you might not see updates. The webpage also looks like crap in IE, use Firefox)

I've been playing ADOM for a couple of months now and I have to confess that I'm hooked. I can't remember being this hooked to a RPG since Fallout 1 & 2. Recently some events spurred my interest into writing my own roguelike game, but I haven't decided on the setting yet. That's where you come in, I'd like some opinions and tips if you have any. I'm thinking about writing it in Java due to the portability, but I might consider C++ as well if someone can give me a good reason not to write in Java. I'm currently brainstorming about everything from a project site to future quests. My vision is a game more epic than traditional roguelikes, feature sound and maybe even music. I hope this poll will help me decide a setting for the game, while I write a GUI and other necessary standard parts. I'm not sure where this project will go or if I'm ever going to finish it, since time is scarce and other obligations keeps distracting me. Hopefully I'll have something along a playable version 0.1 ready by the end of summer. So far I'm calling the game "Journey". It's just something that will have to do until I come up with something better or know where I want to take this.

*edit*
I've hanged the project name to "Roguelike" until I figure out a setting and plot.

#2 DakaSha

DakaSha

Happy Little Tree-hugger

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2013 posts

Posted 24 January 2006 - 07:29 PM