44 replies to this topic

#1 taikara

taikara

Tai-Fu Mastah

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2389 posts

Posted 20 July 2005 - 04:49 AM

I'm sort of curious what languages everybody knows, being that this is a multicultural forum.

Personally, I'm fluent in English (hey, it might seem obvious, but many Americans couldn't honestly claim to be), conversational in Japanese, and can grunt well enough in French to get my ideas across  ;)

I'm currently attempting to learn Norwegian (Tom gives excellent though lengthy lectures ;)), as well as some Dutch (I can sing a few children's songs in Dutch thanks to Kon-Tiki, hehe).

For the record, I'm awesomely bad at languages, though I really enjoy hearing them. The proficiency at Japanese was a fluke occurance, it's the only language I've studied that just "clicked." I'm about twenty times better at Japanese than French, though I studied French twice as long.

I can also say some rather choice phrases in German and Italian... but I wouldn't call that knowledge  :)  German is sort of weird for me, I understand it to some extent, but can't really speak it.

Oh, and I can say "I love you," and "I'm freaking cold," in Russian, hehe.
..<[[[Tofu Ninja of the Pickasldawessle Order]]]>..
QUOTE (Tai - in response to DD on how people who fear change are like cats)
you mean the "you moved my litterbox, so I'm going to pee in your clothes hamper" attitude?
Yes, I just quoted myself. ph34r my T4i-F00!!.
doodoodoo!!!

#2 DakaSha

DakaSha

Happy Little Tree-hugger

• Banned
  • 2013 posts

Posted 20 July 2005 - 05:42 AM

I speak English and German fluently although as youve prob noticed i cant spell worth a crap in either.

I'm learning spanish once i get into my next school semester.

Posted Image
For all you artists here... and we have enough. Please draw me something :D Click Here. If possible include your nick. A simple Test. dunno of the PICKLEWAESEL order!!1!2

#3 Abi79

Abi79

A Usual Suspect

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip